Orange Essence Facial Cleanser

The essence of beautiful skin.
99.9% Natural

Promotions

Product Actions

Add to cart options

Product Options

  • autodiscount
ADD TO BAG
$8.00

Images

Orange Essence Facial Cleanser
Orange Essence Facial Cleanser
99.9% Natural

Details

Brighten up your day and your skin with this gentle, sulfate-free face cleanser. Infused with refreshing Orange Oil and gentle Soap Bark Extract, our 99.9% natural plant-based cleanser helps remove dirt, make-up and other impurities. Formulated with Olive Oil, Aloe and vegetable-based Glycerin to help nourish your skin, it rinses easily so skin looks beautiful and feels healthy, naturally!

• Removes dirt, excess oil and make-up with Orange Oil and Soap Bark Extract
• 99.9% natural plant-based cleanser and Sulfate-Free
• Nourishes skin with Olive Oil, Aloe, Oat Oil and Vegetable-based Glycerin

Featured Ingredient

Sweet Orange Oil

VIEW ALL INGREDIENTS x close
Orange Essence Facial Cleanser is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 230.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic for dry/sensitive skin I use this in combination with the citrus scrub and the rose water toner. It can leave a bit of residue on the skin, but that can be taken care of with a warm washcloth. Your skin will NOT be dry after using this, and it smells fantastic. Don't worry about the citrus on sensitive skin. It's very gentle.
Date published: 2014-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing This is one of my go-to facial cleansers and one of my top five Burt's Bees products. It always leaves my face feeling clean and long-term use really clears up my skin. It is warm and refreshing.
Date published: 2014-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Right product for my sensitive skin My skin is dry and sensitive. Tried many products but they made it more dry. Finally I found right product for my skin. I am a huge fan of Burtsbees. Use the lip balms. I recommend Burtsbees Orange Essence Facial Cleanser to my family and friends.
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cleanser!!! I have been using this product for years-works very well for me and hope Burts Bees will continue to sell this item!
Date published: 2014-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells Great! I really like using the Orange Essence Facial Cleanser! I love the way it smells, and also the way it leaves my face feeling clean.
Date published: 2014-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Skin feels awesome I use this cleanser in the morning (assuming I've washed all my makeup off the night before). It gives you a nice cleanse without stripping your skin of its natural oils. Your skin feels clean smooth and soft afterwards. Highly recommended
Date published: 2014-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful! I have recently started using the Orange Essence Facial Cleanser and I am loving it! It smells heavenly, just like a freshly peeled orange, and it makes my skin feel soft and smooth after I use it. My only gripe about this is that it doesn't really foam or produce a lot of bubbles like typical cleansers, but that's likely due to the fact that it's all natural, which is a good thing. Overall, I would highly recommend this product to anyone who loves the scent of orange and the feeling of clean, smooth skin!
Date published: 2014-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Face cleanser heaven! I have been struggling to find a face cleanser that actually cleans but doesn't remove my face with it. Most cleansers burn like fire and leave my face with all moisture sucked out of it. THIS IS HEAVEN. No burn, clean face, and I still have my face after the wash. And the smell...yum!
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Add some orange zest to your life! I put this citrus cleanser in my gym bag and use it after I work out, or at the end of a long day. It removes dirt and sweat with ease, leaving your face feeling bright and clean! It feels more like a gel than a cream, so soothing on your skin, and it works amazingly. I recommend this product with enthusiasm!
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dry Skin- Highly Recommend! My mother referred me to this product with only one warning: it left a "film" feeling on her face post washing. I have to agree, but I was pleasantly surprised by the "film feeling". It wasn't what you'd think. When you first open the tube, you feel like you're walking in a field of oranges; it smells amazing! The cleanser itself is orange and thick, and so "natural" that I got some in my mouth by accident, and it tasted OK! (Although, I don't recommend eating it.) It lathers nicely on your face, and like I said, it smells amazing. When I rinsed, I expected to feel the "film" my mother had expressed, but it was rather a layer of conditioner/hydration. I rarely have to use a moisturizer with this cleanser because of it. The biggest change in my skin is I have a more evened/fresh tone, and few to little breakouts. It removes makeup better than any of my other cleansers. I have VERY dry skin, so this is a great product for those with similar facial types.
Date published: 2014-01-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from why change the perfect product? Someone else reviewed and has the same thoughts I do, so I am chiming in. When I bought the product in the new package I thought it was just new packaging. However I can tell there is significantly less orange oil in the product. Even the "with orange oil" wording was removed from the front, I guess because there is so much less. Please go back to the original product, I probably will not buy the product again and it was my favorite.I would like to be able to give it a 5 star rating but I no longer can.
Date published: 2014-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sunshine in a Tube :) I recently switched to this facial cleanser from another BB's product. The Orange Essence Facial Cleanser smells awesome, is super gentle, and leaves skin clean and moisturized. The best I've ever used, and natural...Perfect!!!
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job and smells nice doing it This is a nice facial cleanser, but the texture takes a little getting used to. It cleanses nicely, but it is very thick and "goopy" feeling. The orange scent is very pronounced and lingers for a little while after washing.
Date published: 2013-12-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the same... This used to be my favorite facial cleanser... until they changed it!! At first I thought it was just new packaging, but upon use and checking the ingredients it became clear that not only was the packaging changed, the product was changed as well. Limonene is now added, so there is less orange oil. They've also added potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate, which were not listed in the original product. Also, there seems to be less of the oat flour. I preferred the grainier version for exfoliation. I won't buy this new version again. I can only hope the purer version will be available in the future. I'd pay a bit more for the original award-winning version.
Date published: 2013-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for dry, sensitive skin I had trouble with normal cleansers. My face was irritated and dried out to the point where it had read spots all over, itchy and stung if I put anything on it. So I tried this somewhat reluctantly but was really surprised how well it worked. The oil gently removes everything and feels so fresh with orange scent. I've been using it for the past 2 months and still in love with it. But I can see people with oilier skin might break out with this.
Date published: 2013-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product This is a good product to use on the daily. The consistency is thick, but it cleanses away dirt well. It doesn't really suds up, so don't expect it to. I find it works best in combination with a facial sponge. Keep in mind that a little goes a long way... Don't use too much! It goes fast.
Date published: 2013-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but not great. Good, but not great. It did tone my skin and the cleanser was thick. It works, but I've seen better.
Date published: 2013-09-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Reformulated Sloppy Mess I Gave Review on Makeupalley.com in 2011 for Burts Bees Orange Essence Facial Cleanser, the one which ACTUALLY won the 2008 Award, not this sloppy reformulation. I gave the ORIGINAL THICK Orange Essence Facial Cleanser, as it came in the Orange Tube 5 Lippies and sang it's praises to high heavens. It had a MUCH Higher concentration of ORANGE OIL and NO OAT BRAN in it. So, I ran out of this thick wonderous cleanser which gives my skin such clarity while leaving it soft and not stripped of oils. I go to Rite Aid and the tubes are different. I, hoping that is all that has changed, buy two tubes and come home. I compare ingredients. My suspicions were right, the ingredients had been changed. Well, I try it anyway. I place a little of the nice thick cleanser from my old tube on my hand to compare. It forms a nice small pea like shape. I try to put a little of the newly formulated on my hand and the MUCH THINNER OILY Substance just oozes out all over my hand! What has Burt's Bees Done??? They took an AWARD WINNING Cleanser and changed the formulation to a gloppy mess! Tomorrow I return both tubes to Rite Aid. I ordered some of the old tubes off of eBay. But, I'll be looking elsewhere, somewhere other than Burt's Bees for a decent Orange Oil Facial Cleanser.
Date published: 2013-07-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great At First The first time i used this product i got amazing results. It tingled in a warming cleansing way and left my skin smelling nice with a hint of orange. However, i have sensitive skin and about half way into the bottle it started to cause redness and a bit of irritation. i do not have this problem with any of Burt's Bees other skin products. Maybe i got a bad bottle or maybe this product just isn't for me, but Just a warning to those of you with sensitive skin!
Date published: 2013-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just bought it and already in love. I had been needing a face cleanser and couldn't find the one I wanted so I admit this was more of an impulse buy... But I am so happy about it. I've been using a bunch of different wipes but was looking for something that worked a little better. First off, I love the orange smell! It's very natural, too! Not a fake orangey smell at all. I thought it would be more of a cream but it was thicker and kinda greasy. I was starting to have doubts at this point... I rubbed it onto my face. I'd been wearing makeup at school all day and had just taken a shower so huge mascara raccoon eyes! I rubbed it in carefully and washed it off... and it was all gone. Not a trace of makeup left and my skin has a very subtle orange smell :) I should have probably waited a few more weeks to make sure I didn't have any adverse effects, but I loved it too much!
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet, Soft, and Yummy This product works incredibly well. Orange oil, for those who don't know, is a powerful natural cleaner that is high in antioxidants, vitamin c, and is very good for antiaging, inflammation, and acne issues. It has natural antiseptic qualities. This product is PACKED with orange oil. The first second you uncap this cleanser you are transported to an orange grove. This smell is so sweet and strong, in a good way. Oh and the smell doesn't linger throughout the day in case you are worried it might compete with your perfume or something. I used a Clarisonic with this for the exfoliation benefit but I will comment that no matter how you use this product, with or without a Clarisonic, you will not get a lather. It's simply not meant to lather. It's an oil based cleanser. This will not dry your face out at all. I have oily to combination skin with extremely bad blackhead areas along the outer sides of my cheeks. This has not caused any issues anywhere and leaves my skin touchably soft. While this is recommended for normal to dry skin types, if you use this and have super oily or combination skin skin try a toner with it on your problem areas. There is absolutely no tightness after using this. This cleanser is truly very low impact on your skin. Being in my mid 20's, I have tried every kind of cleanser under the sun from the low end to the super expensive including just about every drug store verity. Lately I have realized I don't want to be throwing so many chemicals onto my face (sulfates to name one) just to get it clean. I mean seriously, do I really need my cleanser to be bright blue all crammed with dye? If you are in the market for a new cleanser and want to try something completely different, give this product a try!
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 1 Of My Favorites! The best facial cleanser that I've ever tried on my face! From the texture to the smell of this product, You really do get great results! It's super soft and soothing on your face and after washing it off, Your face feels alive, refreshed, and ready for the day! -BlakeyBee3
Date published: 2012-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from different than anything else! I was in that awful "coming off of Proactiv" phase with my skin, when I was breaking out so bad I just wanted to cry about it. After reading about a safe way to come off of it, I was recommended to try a Burt's Bees product. After checking the reviews online, I went out and picked up this Orange Essence cleanser. The first time I used it, it seemed weird - it doesn't lather up like a normal cleanser but works extremely well for being an oil cleanser. The first time I used it, I was not in love with the after-feeling, I just felt like I still had a layer on my face - so I used a baking soda exfoliant to remove the layer, as well as for general face cleaning. Loved the feeling after - brighter, fresher skin - felt clean, soft, smooth - and the cleanser smelled great. Now, I tend to use the cleaner on dry skin or recently washed (say, in the shower) and recently air-dryed but still moist skin - and I like the feeling it leaves much better. I still usually follow with a baking soda scrub - but I'd be doing that with most cleansers anyway. A little goes a long way, the smell is great, it feels fresh, you skin feels soft and smooth and not dry or oily after. Definitely would buy again, definitely would recommend. It cleaned up that "coming off of proactiv" problem IMMEDIATELY - the next day my skin was back to smooth - and for the most part, has stayed that way since using this product.
Date published: 2012-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great facial cleanser Being in grad school, I am confronted with a good amount of stress on a regular basis and was reflected in the way my skin looked. I used to break out easily and my skin generally is more sensitive to the creams and cleansers I use on my face. Last year I started changing my lifestyle, eating better, working out and at the same time decided to take better care of my skin by using natural products. I am using various Burts Bees products and I like all of them so far. I have been using this cleanser for a few months now and ever since I have been using it, my skin is much clearer and I rarely break out. It smells good and doesnt leave my skin feeling tight like chemical cleansers do. I will definitely stick with this one. :)
Date published: 2012-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Give it another chance! I originally used this cleanser years ago because there was a small tube in a gift package. The oil ingredients and slimy feel made me never use it again - I have combination dry/oily skin, constantly breaking out and flaking at the same time. I decided to try it again recently because I was just so sick of the flaking. I found that if you use it "right," it works really well and doesn't leave the film I felt before. What worked for me: I use it on a dry face after I've showered rather than during. I massage it into my face (when you use it dry, it has a warm-tingly thing going for it). Here's the catch - no splash-rinse is going to de-oil your face. Use the advice on the back of the tube that says to use a warm washcloth, even better one that has a good amount of texture to it, and do a little scrubbing to get it off, then towel dry. The end result is that my skin is neither oily nor flaky - a miracle! I know some suggest the Garden Tomato Toner afterward, but I did try that and found that it actually made my face feel gunky (ironic when the oil-based cleaser doesn't, but whateves.) I would suggest trying this on its own before introducing other products to it. I get that the orange cleanser might not be best at getting off things like eye makeup - I rarely wear anything other than a pressed powder, so I can't speak to it so much. I will say, though, that the de-flaking has made it so that even using a pressed powder looks more natural on my face (instead of highlighting dry spots), and having well-moisturized skin gives the powder something good to "stick" to without getting oily or using face creams that cause breakouts (as they always did for me.)
Date published: 2012-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Greatly Improved my Skin I had no idea that using a soap-free facial cleanser could make SUCH a difference in my skin. It takes my makeup off, and leaves my skin feeling soft and smooth. For the first time, I no longer have Acne or dry spots! At first I thought that feeling was residue, but really, its just that the product cleans without stripping your skin of all of its oils. It smells good (like all BB products) and the size and shape of the tube makes it really easy to take traveling. I would like if BB would make a larger version of this product as it doesn't last very long. Also, it can be difficult to get the soap out of the tube at the end.
Date published: 2012-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet, soothing and generally awesome! I love Burt's Bees so I gladly gave this cleanser a try. I've always had very oily, out-break prone skin. However my skin can somehow manage to be oily and also flaky at the same time; probably from using harsh cleansers that overdry. I love this cleanser! When I first used it I could feel the oil in it, and saw various oils in the ingredients, and wondered if I'd break out. Instead I noticed immediately that it left my skin feeling clean, smooth and less oily without that familiar tight sensation. Plus the orange scent smells wonderful- this stuff even tastes good if you get a little in your mouth! I also love that it is natural, without nasty chemicals. I'd recommend this cleanser to anybody, with any skin type. It cleanses thoroughly and gently like nothing you've probably tried before. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I have!
Date published: 2012-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST FACIAL CLEANER I'VE EVER BOUGHT! Well worth the price!!!!!! I've struggled with very, very dry skin for years. Every facial cleanser I've ever tried has always made my skin drier and cause more breakouts. This product is AMAZING. Literally, just within one week, I went from dry skin and a lot of acne to moisturizer clear skin! I am so,so happy with how my skin looks and feels now. Oh and the smell...Refreshing. It smells like fresh squeezed oranges. I will continue to keep buying this product! <3
Date published: 2012-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for Pregnancy Acne I am pregnant and I have always had problem skin and I had to quit using the products that helped before pregnancy...This is a life saver it cleared my skin without drying my face out.
Date published: 2012-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible cleanser!!! I have really oily skin so I was skeptical about this cleanser but I read other reviews and some of the reviewers said it helped their oily skin. So I bought it and man were they right!!! I haven't had hardly a blemish (I always get one or two right before or after my period, that's how my hormones work) since I started using it and I also use it with the Garden Tomato Toner which gets off any residue the cleanser may have left behind. (All cleansers leave residue, I know that because of the kind of skin I have) it is amazing, although I would not use it to take off makeup. I use the Soap Bark and Camomille Cleanser to do that. I use it in the morning before I apply my makeup and my skin has never looked better. If you have problem skin like mine, I would totally recommend this product along with the Tomato toner. It works perectly!
Date published: 2012-04-30
  • y_2017, m_11, d_18, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_229
  • loc_, sid_06899-00, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_burtsbees
To Use: Wet your face and apply the cleanser with your fingertips or a wet washcloth, massaging gently to loosen and remove dirt and make-up. Rinse thoroughly with warm water and pat dry. Complete your daily regimen with your favorite Burt's Bees toner and face moisturizer.